A history of Young Mariners

History as it started in 1980 - East Auckland when an approach was made to a Group Sea Scout Leader for sisters to participate in the scout section as a unit member. Not forthcoming and with more persistent requests as the year progressed, a parent then put matters to the unit that they were prepared to place the matter in the hands of the Human Rights Commission to ensure that his daughter joined the Sea Scout Unit.

As a follow up on this matter, research commenced in New Zealand and overseas and that in early 1981 discussions were held with Guides, Sea Scouts and other youth organizations. It was after a trip to Fiji in April 1981 and a visit to the Suva Sea Scouts (who included girls in their group) to evaluate the effect of both sexes working together, that on the bus trip from Suva to Nadi the formation of a scheme and plan of action was prepared for implementation upon return to New Zealand.

“Young Mariners”

The name Young Mariners was the successful name chosen after many proposals had been considered. (it was later discovered that a group with the same name operated in London)

Ohui-A-Rangi the then to be first unit formed held its first meeting in the Reformed Presbyterian Church in Bucklands Beach in August 1981 20 young girls attended the first meeting.

The unit Ohui-A-Rangi Young Mariners was formally commissioned on board HMAV Bounty replica at Princess Wharf, Auckland with the certificate presented by Commander J McGuire of the Bounty. Parents and girls were joined by the Rev W.E.H. Cosens the Port Padre from the Seafarers Centre and were shown around the Bounty.

The Te Mahia Sea Scout Group (based at Weymouth Auckland) loaned a 5.2 metre cutter (number 14) to the unit thus enabling them to hold training sessions afloat.  The unit attended the regatta in Hamilton (Waikato Sea Scout Regatta) using this vessel.

A parent Support Committee was established under Mr. Roger Senior – who proceeded to formulate a constitution, which was eventually registered.  In November 1981 the association became incorporated and is known as:

“The Young Mariners of New Zealand Incorporated

Young Mariners Unit timeline

An in-depth history is being compiled by Young Mariners supporters. Here are some of the events significant for the units.

1981 - First unit established at Bucklands Beach, Auckland. The Ohui-A-Rangi unit has been the activity of choice for hundreds of girls for over 20 years.

1983 – Pakuranga unit established at Pakuranga Sailing Club.

1984 – Whangarei Unit established.

1984 – Rotorua Unit formed.

1985 – Akarana Unit formed at Okahu Bay, Auckland.

1985 – Awataha Unit formed on Auckland’s North Shore. Now based in the suburb of Milford.

1988 – Te Puru unit formed at Beachlands, Auckland.

1990 – Tauranga unit formed.

2008 – Cambridge unit formed.

2009 – Franklin unit formed.